HDYS Statement Colored Hair?

So, I don’t know about you, but I’ve always been kind of fascinated by statement colored hair.  In a very easy way, having hair an unnatural color makes you stand out from the crowd, and people immediately notice you.  I love that about bright hair.

I must admit, however, that the mass amounts of teenage girls dip dyeing their hair over the summer made me a bit wary to do it myself, as I’m not usually one to do what everyone else is doing stylistically.  So, while everyone else’s hair is going back to normal, I’m planning to full on dye mine a fun color.  It’s kind of a bucket list thing for me…I’ve had my hair bright red, light red, dark burgundy, brown with blonde highlights, and my natural medium brown shade, but I’ve never done a really intense bright color.

SO, without further ado, here are some unique, stand-out ways to wear statement hair colors that will make you the envy of all of your friends.

1.  Bangs Only

I adore this, because it’s extremely unexpected and I’ve seen very few people do it.  As you can probably tell from the title, it’s a technique in which you only dye your bangs the accented color, and leave the rest of your hair natural (or dyed, however you’d like it).

Now, obviously in the second photo above, from We Love Pastel Hair, the girl also has her ends dip dyed, which evens out the effect a bit.  However, I do think it would be bold and have a striking contrasting effect if you only did the bangs.

2. Pastel Hair

A refreshing change of pace from the hot pink or bright purple dip dyes of spring and summer, pastel colors are extremely in right now.  If you’re nervous about dyeing your whole head of hair a bright color, I’d say that this is the way to go.  It’s extremely whimsical in a soft and sweet way, and keeps the effect from looking too neon or like you belong in a children’s cartoon.

If you still don’t feel up to dyeing all of your hair, a pastel dip dye is much more subtle and feminine than the bright colors most teens were rocking this year.

Photobucket

This pastel lilac shade from Love Aesthetics has a silvery tone to it which I absolutely love.  Very modern and not too outlandish for daily life.

Photobucket

Similarly, this lilac dip dye from Summer Listen is much more subtle and sweet than any dip dyes I’ve seen, but still maintains the whimsical, fun vibe in a less childish way.

3.  Contrasty Hair

Now, this is much more punchy and bold than the pastel hair trend, but still a trend nonetheless.

Does anybody out there watch Once Upon a Time on ABC?  If not, then you should.  It just started its second season, and the first is on Netflix!

But I digress.

Red Riding Hood on the show has extremely dark brown hair which is always accented with bright red peekaboo highlights.  I absolutely adore this look.  It has the potential to look way too goth, but I think the OUAT hairstylists style her in a more retro way.

Note: I’m extremely sorry for not using a photo of a blogger for this one, but I really think this is the best example of this type of hair color, so I’m using this. 🙂

4.  PURPLE.

Full on purple hair or just hair with purple undertones is going to be EVERYWHERE throughout this fall and winter.

Whether it’s a pastel, lilac version like I showed in the pastel section, or a bright, punchy purple, it’s about to be very very in.

Now, the first photo I’m using is also not from a fashion blogger….I’m sorry y’all but I just really love Jade Thirlwall.  She was my most recent Feature Friday, and she has the most lovely plum colored hair, which is actually the color I decided I’ll be dyeing mine soon.

She’s been wearing it a more intense, crayon purple shade recently, which I also love, but I find this reddish plum shade surprisingly wearable and absolutely gorgeous.

OKAY, OKAY I’ll quit talking about Jade now.  Sorry, everyone.

Did your jaw just drop?  Because mine definitely did when I saw this bright purple color from The Dainty Squid.  It’s an absolutely gorgeous, luminescent purple that kind of makes me think of Polly Pocket dolls…in the best way possible.  This is definitely more outlandish than a pastel dip dye or plum color, but very bold and amazing nonetheless.

And last, but not least, we have this lovely deep purple color found on pinterest.  As you can tell from the braid, the bottom layer of the hair is a darker shade of purple, which gives more dimension to the hair color as a whole.

Thank you so much for reading!  What’s your favorite color trend for fall and winter?

xxReagan

Twitter: hdysblog

Instagram: raerush

Leave a Reply

